Driving Without a License
Experienced Lawyer fighting Driving Without a License Tickets throughout Bergen, Hudson and Essex County, New Jersey.
It is against the law in New Jersey to drive without a license. N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 makes it against the law for any person from driving without a license, except when the person is being supervised while participating in a behind-the-wheel driving course. Driving without a license is a traffic offense that may result in serious consequences.
Penalty for Driving Without a License
A person convicted of driving without a license in New Jersey may be fined and incarcerated. If convicted, a person will be subject to the following penalty:
- A fine of up to $500; or
- Imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 60 days
If the person never had a license in New Jersey or any other jurisdiction, the person will be subject to the following penalty if convicted:
- A fine of not less than $200; and
- The court will issue an order that prohibits the person from receiving a license for a period of not less than 180 days
Defense to Driving Without a License
If you have been charged with driving without a license, a New Jersey traffic attorney may be able to help craft a defense. If, for example, you drove because of an emergency, this may be a valid defense. Typically, an emergency occurs when there is an actual and reasonable belief that an injury or the immediate threat of an injury made it necessary to drive. Other defenses may also be available.
If you are facing a driving without a license charge or any other New Jersey traffic offense charge, call The Cintron Firm at 201-791-1333 or e-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Our firm has offices located in the following cities: Ridgefield Park, New Brunswick, Montclair, and Hackensack.