Defending Drug Crimes in New Jersey Municipal Court
Experienced Lawyer Fighting Drug Crime Charges throughout Bergen, Hudson and Essex County, New Jersey.
Pleading guilty to a drug charge in Municipal Court just to get the case over with might seem like a good idea now, but it can create problems for you later. This is because a drug conviction can hurt your chances of getting into school, getting a job or even getting the professional license for the career you want.
If you are facing a drug charge in a Municipal Court in New Jersey, it is best to first contact an attorney to discuss your legal alternatives. At The Cintron Firm, we will discuss your case with you, develop a potential strategy based on the specific facts of your case and obtain all evidence against you to help expand your options for achieving a favorable outcome.
What Is A Controlled Dangerous Substance?
By far the most common drug charges in NJ Municipal Courts is for the possession or use of a controlled dangerous substance. If you have received a complaint for possession or use of a controlled dangerous substance, you have most likely been charged with violating the statute N.J.S.A. 2C: 35-10.
Whether the drugs you are alleged to have used or possessed are marijuana, hashish, or any other drug, the complaint usually refers to the drug as a “controlled dangerous substance” or “CDS.” A controlled dangerous substance or CDS refers to a drug, substance, or other precursor set forth by the State of New Jersey that is deemed illegal to use or possess. A controlled dangerous substance does not include alcoholic beverages or tobacco.
What Are The Penalties For Marijuana Drug Charges In Municipal Court?
If you are charged with possessing less than 50 grams of marijuana or less than 5 grams of hashish, you face the following penalties:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- A license suspension of between 6 months and 2 years
- A fine of up to $1,000.00
- A $500.00 mandatory Drug Enforcement and Demand Reduction penalty
- Additional assessments, laboratory fees and court costs of over $200
- Community service
These consequences are even greater for second and subsequent offenders and for offenses that are committed within 1,000 feet of any school property or school bus. In fact, if you are charged with possession of CDS on school property or within 1,000 feet of school property or a school bus, you may be required to perform at least 100 hours of community service.
The Cintron Firm represents adults and juveniles facing drug possession charges throughout New Jersey. If you face a drug charge, feel free to contact The Cintron Firm for a free consultation. Mark Cintron will work directly with you to make sure that you understand the charges, provide you with your alternatives, develop a defense strategy, and advise you what you can expect at every step of your case.